My mom and her iPhone

IMG_1691This is my mom. The leader of my life.  With her new iPhone.  She’s learning.   She’s learning how to do things my 5 granddaughters (all under 5) can do without blinking an eye. My mom has to struggle to remember. “Now how do I do this Teri?” “Well Mom, you go like this…click here and then push this button and then this button and look, you can see your text messages”.

Sound familiar? Is this a bad thing? I don’t think so.  I’m excited at this phase of her life. My mom is turning 75 this year.  What an awesome woman she is. She comes from a long line of amazing cooks and crafters.  She knits, crochets, and makes felt stockings for all the new babies in her life. For my whole life, she has guided me, taught me, lectured me, and kept me grounded. This woman has been my best friend and my sounding board. She’s kept me safe and out of harm’s way.  This woman would lay down her life for me.  She would.  Not a doubt in my mind. Even today.  If a gang of thugs were surrounding me, she’d bust in there, grab two thug ears and drag them over to the curb; give them each a stern lecture that would include some strong Christian morals and values, shake their ears again and leave them wondering “What just happened?”  That’s my mama.  My hero.  So, absolutely Mom.  What else would you like to learn about your phone? I have all the time in the world for you.

So as Mother’s Day approaches, I wonder. Is your Mom your hero? What has she done to become YOUR hero? How has your Mom made your life a better place to live in?

Leave a Reply

