Craft Projects

I love crafting.  I’ve always loved crafting. I come from a long line of crafters.  My mom does all kinds of needle crafts.  My grandmother used to sew and do embroidery and other needle crafts.  I think the thing I love most about crafting is being able to create something from just an idea.  I used to be a huge scrapbooker. But now that I live at the beach, I collect all kinds of beach “stuff” and why not use that to my advantage and make beautiful stuff.  I hope you enjoy what I’ve created.  Please feel free to leave any comments or questions.  I’d love to hear what you have to say.

Even my daughter is crafty! Look at this Family Birthday calendar! Isn't she so talented?

Even my daughter is crafty! Look at this Family Birthday calendar she made.  Isn’t she so talented?

Custom made beach wreath using local  items found on the beach with a handwritten sign.

Custom made beach wreath using local items found on the beach with a handwritten sign

I used local driftwood, along with some purchased shells to make this beautiful wreath. Enjoy!

I used local driftwood, along with some purchased shells to make this beautiful wreath.

Driftwood, shells, seaglass beads & hemp

Wind Chime using driftwood, shells, glass beads, and hemp.

Driftwood, Hemp, Blue/Green beads, shells

Driftwood, Hemp, Blue/Green beads, shells

I used a large clam shell to anchor some beautiful glass beads and small shells with hemp.

I used a large clam shell to anchor some beautiful glass beads and small shells with hemp.

I used a medium size clam shell with lots of glass beads and small hermit crab shells I’ve found on the beach.

I used pieces of clam shells as well as pebbles worn smooth from the sea

I used pieces of clam shells as well as pebbles worn smooth from the sea to make this collage.

This is some of the beach treasures I collect.

Thanks to my friends Tim & Nina for finding all this treasure for me!

Thanks to my friends Tim & Nina for finding all this treasure for me!

Thanks again Tim & Nina!

Thanks again Tim & Nina!

Here I am collecting crab shell bodies.  For some reason there were hundreds of crab shells washed ashore.

Here I am collecting crab shell bodies. For some reason there were hundreds of crab shells washed ashore

And here's  what I collected.  I have no idea yet what I'm going to do with them!

And here’s what I collected. I have no idea yet what I’m going to do with them!

That’s the fun thing about collecting beach stuff.  You never know what you’re going to find and once you find it, what to do with it!  That’s the challenge, isn’t it? Tell me, what’s your crafting guilty pleasure? How do you find your inspiration?

Leave a Reply

